Question: What is sharing a post on Facebook?

When someone hits the Facebook Share button, they can publish a post that they’re interested in on their own wall, without having to copy and paste a link onto their Facebook profile. The Share button is one of the three engagement options that Facebook gives users to allow them to connect with people online.

What happens when I share a post on Facebook?

When you share someone else’s post, that post isn’t placed on your own Timeline. Instead, your share is merely a “pointer” to the original post. In other words, when you share someone’s post you’re basically telling your Facebook friends that you like that post and they should check it out.

What is the difference between sharing and posting on Facebook?

The difference between sharing vs.

According to Facebook, if someone’s setting says the post can only be seen by their friends, then sharing the post will only show the content to your mutual friends.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Quick Answer: What does Arrow and opened mean on Instagram?

Who sees a shared post on Facebook?

Only the people who could see those posts when you first made them are able to see them when someone taps Share. Use the audience selector to adjust who you share posts with. Note: When a friend shares a link that you posted, they can share the link with a wider audience than you originally shared it with.

Do people know if you share their post on Facebook?

Check Your Notifications

If a post has been shared, it’ll tell you the name of the person and how many hours ago they shared it. You may also receive an email informing you of this, depending on if you have email updates set up.

What does it mean when someone shares a post with just you?

Shared privately: The post was shared with specific people. You may not be able to see all of the people who got the post. Shared only with you: The post was only shared with you. No one else got it.

What you should not post on Facebook?

10 Things You Should Never Post on Facebook

  • How much you hate your job. …
  • Embarrassing pictures of other people. …
  • Your birth year. …
  • Strong political or religious opinions. …
  • Curse words. …
  • Other people’s big news. …
  • Details of your vacation. …
  • Posts intended to make others envious.

What does it mean to share a post on your timeline?

Share Now (Friends) — Immediately shares the post to your timeline without adding any text. Share… — Opens the post in a “New Post” window in which you can add text (e.g., commentary).

IT\'S AMAZING:  Where is my commerce profile on Facebook?

Whats the difference between posting and sharing?

Sharing in the modern sense is also generally done by posting something on a social media site. Typically, you share postings made by others, of whatever form video, status/comment, image with remarks, etc. Posting is what you or they do, either from scratch or like Twitter says re-tweeting/reposting.

Is it better to like or share on Facebook?

‘Liking’ something is easier for users than ‘Sharing’ it, mainly because casual Internet surfers don’t like to be burdened by the text box. But, sharing accompanied by a positive comment could potentially add more value to the webpage/product/video/etc. being shared.

Why cant I see who shared my post?

Click the share option and you should see the name of the person who shared your Facebook post. This is based on their personal privacy setting, eg, if the post is shared by someone your not friends with on Facebook, and their privacy is set to friends only, then you might not be able to see their name.

Do all my Facebook friends see my posts?

Your friends can, however, see your posts if they go to your Facebook page. You can also set who sees your posts on your page. In the photo below, I have set this specific post to public, which means everyone (not just my friends) can see it.

Can you post on Facebook without friends seeing?

Hiding an individual post

Just click the button immediately to the left of the blue “Post” button when typing a status update. Just like using the Privacy Settings page, you can choose to block individual people from seeing the post using the “custom” option.

IT\'S AMAZING:  What is a good cost per result on twitter?

Why can’t I see everyone who shared my Facebook post?

Depending on the ‘Privacy Settings’ of the persons, you might not see the name of everybody that shared your post on Facebook. If the people that shared your post, shared it with the privacy setting of ‘Friends’ or ‘Only Me’, then you will not see their name if you are not friends on Facebook with them.

Do people get notified when you share name and photo?

Yes, if the ‘activity that involves you’ setting is set up to show notifications (it is by default), users are notified instantly anytime a picture or any other content of theirs is shared on a timeline. The notification will feature the name of person that shared the content, along with their profile photo.