Public groups can’t be hidden, and they’re a good option if you want to prioritize quantity in terms of group members. If you want to scale fast and it doesn’t really matter who joins, this option can work. In most cases, however, private Facebook groups are going to be the best bet for businesses.
What does it mean if a group is public on Facebook?
The content shared in Public groups is visible to anyone on and off Facebook, and the member list is visible to anyone on Facebook. With these changes, it is more likely that more people will see, and may interact with, the content posted to Public Groups. This includes people who may not be members of the group.
What are the benefits of a public Facebook group?
Public. With a public Facebook group, anyone can see what members post or share. If they have a Facebook account, they can also see a list of members, admins and moderators. On the plus side, you’ll be visible to all potential group members and customers and there’s no barrier to join the club.
Is a private Facebook groups really private?
A Secret Facebook group is a private group which is completely hidden from non members. Only members of the group can find it, and new members can only be added at the invite of current members, admins, or moderators. Nobody outside the group will be aware of its existence, and nobody can apply to join.
What is the difference between public and private group?
Public groups are listed in the public directory of groups, and any member of the community can join the group without seeking approval from the group owners. All content in private groups is hidden from the public and is viewable only by members of that group.
Can I change my Facebook group from private to public?
Private groups can’t change to public to protect the privacy of group members. But group admins can choose to make their groups visible or hidden.
Will my friends see if I post in a public group?
If it is a Public group, then everything you post inside the group will be visible to all your Facebook friends. If you post in a Private group, then only the other members of the group will be able to see your posts.