Restricting an account lets you limit interactions with the user without blocking or unfollowing them. This is more helpful to limit interactions on posts, since restricted users will still be able to see your Stories.
Does restricting someone on Instagram stop them from viewing your story?
They won’t be able to see your past or future posts even if you have a public profile. That is one of the ways to identify if you have been blocked. On the other hand, when you restrict someone, nothing changes in terms of feed and stories. The restricted person can still see your stories and published posts.
What happens when I restrict someone on Instagram?
Introduced as an anti-bullying feature, Instagram’s Restrict function gives you more control over what comments both you and your followers see on your posts by limiting what restricted accounts can post on your profile. When you restrict someone, their comments and messages will be hidden from your profile.
Can a restricted friend see my story?
If you have put restrictions on someone, then they will not be able to see your story. Note: If you make any changes to your story privacy settings, it will apply to any photos and videos currently in your story along with ones you keep adding.
How do I know if someone restricted me on insta?
While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.
Is restrict the same as mute on Instagram?
In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.
What happens when you restrict someone?
Restrict is a new privacy feature in Instagram. Once you restrict someone, their comments on your Instagram posts will only be visible to them (and not publicly). If you want, you can view their comment using the “See Comment” button.
What is the hide your story feature on Instagram?
You can also choose people to hide your story from as you’re looking at who’s seen your story. Tap (iPhone) or (Android) to the right of their name and select Hide Your Story. Keep in mind that hiding your story from someone is different from blocking them, and doesn’t prevent them from seeing your profile and posts.
What do restricted friends see?
Restricted. People on the restricted list can see your public posts only. That means you can start to manage Friends on Facebook with greater subtlety, without getting quite so confused about all the other privacy settings and how they affect any other lists you create. Restricted always means public posts only.
What can someone see if they are on my restricted list?
When you add someone to the Facebook restricted list, you remain friends with them while limiting the posts they’re able to see. They will only see your posts if you’ve set the audience to “Public” (indicated by the globe icon), if they’re tagged in it or if a mutual friend tags both of you in the post.
How do I know if someone hid their story from me?
According to a spokesperson at Instagram there’s no official way to tell if someone hid their Stories from you, for privacy reasons. Plus, there’s always the possibility of a glitch, or that the story didn’t load for you.
How do you remove someone from restricted on Instagram?
Restrict or unrestrict someone through settings
Tap in the top right. Tap Settings and then tap Privacy. Below Connections, tap Restricted accounts. Tap Continue.