Frequent question: Can you stop non friends messaging you on Facebook?

Only people on your confirmed friends list will be allowed to send you messages. If you want to stop someone who’s currently on your friend list from messaging you, the only way to stop her is by un-friending her.

How do I stop getting messages from strangers on Facebook?

From the menu, tap Privacy. Tap Message Delivery. Tap on the people you want to control messages for. Select where to deliver their messages or tap Don’t deliver requests to stop receiving their messages.

How do I stop non friends from messaging on Facebook 2021?

On Facebook Messenger: Open a chat with the person > Click the “i” icon in the top right > Choose “Mute,” “Ignore Messages,” or “Block.” On Instagram: Navigate to the person’s profile > Click the three-dot icon in the top right > Choose “Restrict” or “Block.”

How do I restrict someone on Facebook Messenger?

Step 1: Open the conversation with the person you wish to block. Step 2: Tap the user’s name at the top of the screen. Step 3: Scroll down and tap “Block.” Step 4: Tap the toggle next to “Block Messages” to stop the user from being able to send you messages and calls on Messenger.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Are Facebook life events public?

Why is someone I’m not friends with on Facebook on my messenger?

You can be messenger contacts without being friends. When you send a message to someone that isn’t your friend they accept the message request and it makes you “contacts” in messenger but does not make you friends.

How do I make messenger private?

How do I start a Secret Conversation in Facebook Messenger?

  1. From the tab, tap.
  2. Tap Secret in the top right.
  3. Select who you want to message.
  4. If you want, tap in the text box and set a timer to make the messages disappear.

How do I block non friends on Facebook?

Non-Friends

  1. Go to Account –> Privacy Settings.
  2. Select the “Block Lists” section at the bottom of the screen.
  3. In the “Block Users” section you can enter their name (as it appears in Facebook) and/or email address.
  4. Select “Block”

What is restrict on messenger?

When you restrict a person, they can’t see your future posts. However, it’s only valid if you are choosing the Friends privacy setting. In case you go with Public as the audience, then everyone, including the people on the Restricted list, will see it. Moreover, if you tag the person, then also they can see that post.

What happens when you restrict someone on messenger?

When you add someone to your Restricted list, you’ll still be friends with them on Facebook, but they’ll only be able to see your public information (example: your posts and profile info you choose to make public) and posts you tag them in.

IT\'S AMAZING:  How do I encourage comments on Facebook?

How can you tell if someone has restricted you on Facebook Messenger?

What to Know

  1. Send the person a message. If it goes through, they probably haven’t blocked you.
  2. If you see a warning saying that the message wasn’t sent, the person might have blocked you.
  3. If you can view the person’s Facebook profile, they may have blocked you on Messenger but not on Facebook.