Quick Answer: Are Facebook groups public?

There are 2 privacy settings for Facebook groups: Public: anyone on or off Facebook can see who’s in the group and what they post. Private: only members can see who’s in the group and what they post. … Everyone in the group will get a notification when the privacy change happens.

Can people see your Facebook groups?

Anyone on Facebook can see who belongs to public groups and content that is shared in those groups. For private groups, only members can see who belongs and what they have posted. By default, groups that had been secret will now be private and hidden, and groups that were closed will now be private and visible.

How do I hide my groups on Facebook?

Tap in the top right of Facebook, then scroll down to Groups and select your group.

  1. Tap More, then select View Group Info.
  2. Tap Edit Group Settings.
  3. Below Hide Group select Visible or Hidden.
  4. Tap Save.

Is a private Facebook groups really private?

A Secret Facebook group is a private group which is completely hidden from non members. Only members of the group can find it, and new members can only be added at the invite of current members, admins, or moderators. Nobody outside the group will be aware of its existence, and nobody can apply to join.

IT\'S AMAZING:  How do I automatically hide comments on Facebook?

Can a private Facebook group be made public?

Private groups can’t change to public to protect the privacy of group members. But group admins can choose to make their groups visible or hidden.

How do private Facebook groups work?

Secret groups offer the same level of privacy as closed groups under a cloak of invisibility. No one can search for secret groups or request to join them. The only way to get in is to know someone who can invite you. Everything shared in a secret group is visible only to its members.

Why can’t I change my private group to public?

Private groups can’t change to public to protect the privacy of group members. But group admins can choose to make their groups visible or hidden.

Will my friends see if I post in a public group?

If it is a Public group, then everything you post inside the group will be visible to all your Facebook friends. If you post in a Private group, then only the other members of the group will be able to see your posts.

What is the difference between a closed group and a private group on Facebook?

Closed groups, which only let current members view group content and see who else is in the group, will now be labeled as private but visible groups. Secret groups, which are hidden from search, but still require an invitation to join, will be changed to a private and hidden group.

Can a public Facebook group see who visits?

Facebook Groups Let You See Exactly Who Has Viewed Your Photos, Too. In July, Facebook rolled out a new “seen by” feature for groups, which let people know who has seen a post or announcement in that group, and when.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Can you be blocked from a Facebook group?

What does public group mean on Facebook?

The content shared in Public groups is visible to anyone on and off Facebook, and the member list is visible to anyone on Facebook. With these changes, it is more likely that more people will see, and may interact with, the content posted to Public Groups. This includes people who may not be members of the group.