If you mute him, you can still see his messages and stories through his profile and he can see your messages and stories too. … They can message you and call you, but you won’t be notified. You cannot send messages to someone you have blocked, and the messages they send will not reach you.
Do you still get messages if you mute someone on Instagram?
Yes, the messages will arrive silently in your inbox. Since you won’t be notified about them, you will have to open the inbox to check them.
What happens if you mute someone on Instagram messages?
Muting someone on Instagram is like the social media equivalent of politely excusing yourself from a conversation, without making a scene. When you mute someone, their posts and stories will no longer show up in your feed, but they’ll still be able to see your posts, and you can visit each other’s account pages.
Can someone still message you if you mute them?
Muting someone on WhatsApp is the nicest way to take a break from them. When you mute someone on WhatsApp, they will still be able to send you messages, see your status/last seen, and your profile picture.
How do you mute a direct message on Instagram?
How to mute Instagram Direct conversation alerts
- Launch the Instagram app and tap on the Direct icon in the top-right corner. …
- Select the conversation you’d like to mute.
- Tap on the “i” in the corner of your screen.
- Slide the Mute Notifications with to the On position.
What does mute mean in text messages?
Both iPhones and Android phones have the ability to mute notifications on a conversation-by-conversation basis. That way, you can ignore group messages that don’t interest you, but still get notifications for all your other text messages.
How do I see muted messages on Instagram?
View silenced accounts
- Step 1: Tap your profile picture in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
- Step 2: Tap the three horizontal lines in the top-right corner of the screen.
- Step 3: Tap “Settings.”
- Step 4: Tap “Privacy.”
- Step 5: Tap “Muted Accounts.”
How do you know if someone has you on restricted on Instagram?
While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.